Asset 3Asset 1Asset 2buildingcalendar-iconclockAsset 1Asset 1leaveslocation-markerAsset 1pure-advantageSearchAsset 1treetukutuku

Skip to the content

What Are The "Trees That Count"?

All trees must be native to New Zealand to assist with restoring and enhancing our environment, our biodiversity as well as impacting climate change.

Additional to native Pohutukawa and Northern Rata (the trees which Project Crimson Trust is on a mission to protect via other initiatives), there are many other native trees that will be accepted for the Trees that Count project.

Some common native tree and shrub species that will meet Trees that Count’s criteria for planting are listed below, but there are many more on the list - the New Zealand Plant Conservation Network is a great website to visit for the full list of eligible trees.

  • Pohutukawa
  • Northern Rata
  • Kowhai
  • Kauri
  • Matai
  • Kawaka
  • Red Beech
  • Black Beech
  • Titoki
  • Rewarewa
  • Manuka
  • Rangiora
  • Totara
  • Rimu


About the author

A charitable trust that aims to protect New Zealand's endangered pohutukawa and rata trees. Also funds scientific research, community and school planting.

comments powered by Disqus